Miles Canyon Suspension Bridge
The paddle wheel ships came through this narrow canyon over 100 years ago...
Located only a few Km's from the suite. There are very nice hiking trails along the canyon and a suspension bridge. It has iconic Gold rush history as the rapids that existed before the dam took out many of the boats heading for Dawson.
Miles Canyon Originally referred to as Grand Canyon, Fredrick Schwatka renamed it in July of 1883 Miles Canyon after General Nelson Miles. Schwatka wrote, “Through this narrow chute of corrugated rock the wild waters of the great river rush in a perfect mass of milk-like foam, with a reverberation…
Amazing views and trails. The IOC is spot where Whitehorse got its name after the Rapids that used to roll through the canyon.
“Fantastic house roasted beans, great food, gardens, and wilderness setting. Also, right next to a hot spring!”
Point of Interest
“Great place to get a sense of Yukon First Nations culture, history, traditions, and art.”
“This is a fantastic facility, theater, concerts as well as an installation art gallery and a public showing gallery. Check their website for schedule. ”
“breads.......yip......and so good it may be a problem when you are in town....”