National Coach Museum
It has a unique collection of coaches, with fine 18th century specimens exuberantly decorated with paintings and gilded carving.
Lisbon's National Coach Museum features one of the most prominent horse-drawn carriage collections in the world. Extremely surprising and worthwhile.
Coaches Museum The world's largest collection of magnificent royal coaches. housed in the royal riding arena and was established in 1905 by Queen Amélia. The royal riding arena was an extension of the Belém Palace which is now the president’s official residence. The collection consists of…
Most stunning and unique museum displaying the Portuguese royal coach collection in amazing contemporary purpose built museum, which optimises the display and viewing of the collection. Make sure you also visit the separate building (a 5 minute walk away) which first used to house the collection…
“This place, is one of the biggest reasons some people come to Portugal. Just to try and taste the custard tart ”
“O Palácio Nacional da Ajuda , a national monument since 1910, is not only the former royal dwelling and decorative arts museum, it is also the seat of other Portuguese institutions linked to culture and stage of protocol ceremonies.”
Place of Worship
“Among the most celebrated historic monuments in Portugal, the Jerónimos monastery is also one of the jewels in Lisbon's sightseeing crown. Commissioned by King Manuel I in 1501 and timed to coincide with the return of Vasco da Gama (1460-1524) after his momentous voyage to India, the church and adjacent monastery are considered the greatest examples of Manueline architecture in the country. The church's south portal is astonishing in its detail, with no less than 40 statues of ornate filigree embellishing the entrance. Inside, the nave is equally exuberant, the vaulting carved to resemble giant palms fanning out from slender octagonal pillars. Several royal tombs are placed in and around the chancel, including those of Manuel himself and King João III. Laid to rest nearer the entrance are Vasco da Gama and the poet Luís de Camões. Architect Diogo de Boitaca was originally tasked with designing the building but the sumptuous carved stone arches and balustrades in the cloister are the work of João de Castilho, who replaced de Boitaca in 1517. The monastery was occupied by the Order of St. Jerome (Hieronymites) until 1834.”
“Check their calendar, beside the art expos, regularly they have music shows and concerts. It is also a nice place to visit due to its architecture and gardens, includes a restaurant, a bistro and cafe to relax and enjoy the view & sun. ”