Penthouse North Beach
Private secluded beautifully renovated Penthouse overlooking Africa's famous North Beach. On the Golden Mile and on the Front Line you do not get mor…
I was unfortunately disappointed in this listing. I could live with the run down but clean interior of the apartment building (as highlighted in the description), even the washing that lines the passageways. What I could not accept was arriving to dark and winding passageways, that the lift was not working, that the lock on the security gate was broken, that the shower stops running when someone else opens a tap somewhere else in the apartment block (think head full of shampoo and no water!), and that no basics (for example tea, coffee and sugar) are supplied. As a single female traveler I felt completely unsafe (this area is risky at night) and had to ask a colleague to come and stay with me until I could find alternate accommodation. I was refunded for the days that I did not stay at the apartment. I would recommend this apartment only if these issues are addressed, and not for single (or even a pair of) female travelers.
Lift was working to the fourth floor...you had to walk down a flightof stairs...you were escorted everytime to your apartment..the building is undergoing extensive refurbishment. What you have also failed to mention is that I even paid for your Data usage...which when I charge $US60 for the entire penthouse flat and have to pay you back $US 30 for data ...I mention clearly that the block is old...if you wish to experience a 5 star experience you will have to pay more...this is a well located wonderfully decor d inside apartment as explained.
Sadly Julian's apartment was a big disappointment for us. We chose it mainly due to the nice view of the beach, which you actually don't have from the apartment, because it is located on the other side of the building. The apartment itself was not as clean as we expected it from other places in South Africa. Especially dishes and glasses had to be thoroughly cleaned before use. Towels did Julian only provide one, for our party of three guests. But the biggest disappointment was, that no water was coming out of the shower or water tap in the afternoon or evening. Only early in the morning it is possible to take a shower, probably due to the poor condition the building was in. Beside that a lot of waste was lying around in the hallway and courtyard. Overall not a nice place to spend your holidays. I contacted Julian after the stay and informed him about our experience. Sadly we did not get an apology from him, only the excuse, that this is standard in this price range. Well, we made a different experience, while staying in 9 more places on our trip in this price range and kind of location.
If one is to read previous feed back one would see that this review is divergent. I was contacted by Marius requesting a 100% refund...I found it hard to accept..given that had there been a problem it should have been dealt with during the stay. I have just had another group of guest through who expressed their satisfaction and happiness with the penthouse. I must admit I felt like I was being "forced"into a refund based on a threat to make a poor review. Marius requested/demanded me to create a FALSE Booking, whereby he would be repaid the monies, via AirBNB, i found this underhand and not acceptable. My question here is how many other aprtments have been forced into making FALSE BOOKINGS by Marius. Lastly I DID (URL HIDDEN) is clear that the response from Marius is questionable and unfair.
Lovely place - as seen in the pictures. This penthouse is not serviced however it is pleasant with an ocean-view. This place is located above a residential block of flats and the outside of the building is not so nice however this is markedly different from the penthouse itself.
Please note that based on the budget price for the Penthouse apartment...satellite TV is not offered( the basic 4 stations are standard though)...and it is not serviced daily...unless you specifically request it. It would not be possible to keep our prices if we offered these services.
We stayed comfortably as a group of five in Julian's lovely penthouse on North Beach. The place was clean, secure, and had excellent views all around! The beds were comfortable and it was nice to have a/c in one of the rooms, at least. The location was very good, just a very short walk to the beach and some great cafes and restaurants. It is an older building, so sometimes the water pressure or heat wasn't great, but it was never a big problem. I would definitely recommend.
We arrived in Durban early and Julian arranged for us to have access to the appartment at 8am which was great! The appartment is very centrally located and had everything we needed for a long weekend of surfing. The portable aircon in the main bedroom was a lifesaver! The appartment is tastefully furnished and we will definately make use of it again when we return to Durban. Thank you!
Durban, 夸祖鲁-纳塔尔省(KwaZulu-Natal), 南非